I’m a brand junkie, these are my Lovemarks.

The word “Lovemarks” has gotten a ton of play lately. So much in fact that the blogosphere is buzzing abouthis theory and the major advertising accounts that have been won/lost because of it. I’ve been thinking quite a bit about what I determine to be my own Lovemarks.

Red Bull hits top of mind. True, I did in fact work for Red Bull but that experience has only pushed me to love the brand and culture even more. Red Bull reminds me everyday that without a great product no measure of marketing will bring you out of the trenches. I’m also constantly reminded from my time with the company that if something’s worth doing, it’s worth overdoing.

Second is Apple. A bit provoked by my experience at the MacWorld expo today, I’m reminded that Apple’s success comes from listening to their audience and their willingness to reinvent themselves. Steve Jobs and his band of cronies remind me everyday to think different, listen to my audience, and above all not to play the game, but as Roy Lichtenstein once said “instead of playing everyone else’s game, you should invent your own and be the star because no one else knows how to play.” Apple does exactly that year after year.

I’d be remised if I didn’t mention a number of other brands, but I’d like to keep this short. The point is that brands and the stories they tell pervade our everyday life. We in essence become the brands we love. The story’s they tell become your own and more frequently your stories are becoming the brand…

Have you ever considered what your Lovemarks are?

~ by roguemarketeer on January 10, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
